Reviews

Reviews - Whitten & Lublin Employment Law


 

Reviews

 

GET ADVICE

Sherry Funston
July 10, 2015

I could not speak more highly of David Whitten. He had thoroughly reviewed my preliminary documentation prior to our first meeting and immediately put me at ease, advising that he would help me through all this to a satisfactory result. And he was as good as his word. He was encouraging - he was reassuring - he was professional - and he was empathetic.

From the first meeting with David, came my first good night sleep in about a month. I knew I was in good and capable hands.

David Whitten has my highest recommendation - I am extremely grateful to him.

Sherry Funston

Elizabeth Vince
July 2, 2015

I was referred to Whitten and Lublin by a business associate of my husband. I was fortunate to be assigned Daniel Chodos to handle the review of the severance package offered by my former employer as a result of an internal restructure in late 2014. Daniel and his team handled my case with great professionalism and respect. The team kept me informed at all stages of the process and Daniel was always available to speak on the phone if I had questions or concerns. I highly recommend Daniel and his team and in fact have recommended several contacts to reach out to Daniel for his assistance.

Brian Leve
June 23, 2015

I was in a difficult situation with a former employer and I was referred to Daniel Lublin who specializes in workplace law. Daniel devised the perfect strategy to fend off my former employer. Daniel was certainly not afraid of going up against his opponents, a large team of “bay street” lawyers and his advice was thoughtful and effective, every step of the way, particularly with a plan designed to go on the offensive. Each time there was a court challenge or new filing, we were victorious. In the end, the result was much better than I had expected. I would not hesitate to recommend Daniel Lublin to anyone with a workplace legal dispute.

Lionel Bebbington
June 19, 2015

Daniel Chodos provided me excellent counsel during an unexpected career transition. He was friendly, exceptionally knowledgeable and explained things clearly and simply. I would highly recommend him and the rest of the staff at Whitten and Lublin.

James Rankin
May 25, 2015

I first met with Daniel Lublin on a consultation basis as I was concerned that my employer was preparing to terminate me. He provided me with excellent advice and assured me that, as a junior executive, if I was ever faced with being terminated I would have an excellent case for an appropriate severance package.

As it turned out two months later I “got the call” on a Friday morning and learned that I was being let go. The initial package I received was well below by expectations given my initial consultation with Daniel. As well, after reviewing the initial offer, Daniel’s opinion was that it did not necessarily meet all of the statute requirements.

In terms of fees, Daniel was straight up with me. We agreed right from the get go how we would proceed and I was highly satisfied with the results and with how Daniel was compensated for his efforts.

It was not an insignificant case. We were up against one of Canada’s largest corporations that, as a growing entity, had dealt with terminations frequently. They hired one of Canada’s largest and best known law firms to represent them. None of this deterred Daniel in any way. From the very beginning he had absolute confidence in the strength and foundation of our side of the story.

This was proven out when Daniel identified a technicality in the defence argument regarding the Employment Standards Act. This action on Daniel’s part forced my former employer to send additional money above and beyond their initial offer – all prior to our final settlement. This helped greatly, in terms of financial security in a very tough time, as well as giving me additional confidence in our overall position.

Daniel guided me carefully through each of the offer / counter offer steps in the process (of which there were several). Although the total process took several months (although less than six), the strategy utilized by Daniel did force a settlement on our terms, not theirs, all before having to begin formal trial proceedings.

I was highly satisfied with the results. Daniel and his staff were extremely thorough and always accessible whenever I needed them, even if it was just for some reassurance. His professionalism, confidence, and dogged determination never wavered and I was confident that he continually acted with my best interests in mind.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Daniel to anyone faced with the same situation as me. It is a horrible time in one’s life and it makes sense to have the absolute best on your side, fighting tooth and nail to get the job done to ultimate satisfaction.

Many thanks to Daniel Lublin and his team.

Barb Milburn-Clarke
May 11, 2015

Totally professional, detail orientated, no time wasted. Even though my case was small, I was treated with importance. Highly recommend David Whitten ...of Whitten and Lublin Employment Law office.

Karen Harding
April 29, 2015

I was referred to Daniel Lublin by a colleague. The initial consultation was informative, providing a solid assessment of the financial package on offer as well as an overview of the process and legal options. Negotiations with my former employer were protracted over several months. During this time Daniel was accessible and responsive to questions. I found Daniel to be honest in his dealings and the legal bill was reasonable and below the initial quote. I would not hesitate to refer Daniel Lublin to a colleague.

Carolina Fernandez
March 23, 2015

I recommend Daniel Lublin for outstanding work he has done for me! Fees etc were spot on and no surprises! Thank you Daniel!

Ian B
March 13, 2015

I was recently laid off without cause after being with my firm for over 30 years and Daniel Lublin came highly recommended to review my severance package. He immediately made me feel at ease and fully explained my options during this difficult time. Throughout the negotiation process all questions and concerns were immediately responded to. Daniel is both highly professional and personable and I would not hesitate to contact him if the need should arise again or to recommend his services.

Robert Bianchi
February 19, 2015

I first met with another lawyer and did not feel that they had the confidence to really go to bat for me. After meeting with Daniel Lublin, I was sure he would swing for the fences, and he did.

Daniel delivered on the expectations he set with me during the consultation and his fee was consistent with what we had discussed from the outset. During the negotiations, there were difficult decisions that had to be made. Daniel was able to advise the best approach based on his knowledge and experience, which we followed, and which resulted in a very successful settlement. I would recommend Daniel to others without question.

Stephen Wylie
January 21, 2015

When dealing with your former employer on a severance package, you want to be represented by someone who is responsive, tenacious and knows the law. The employment lawyers at Whitten & Lublin are exactly that. I’m very pleased with their guidance and the results they achieved. Daniel Lublin and his team were excellent to work with from the initial consultation to the final settlement. Many thanks!

Default Avatar75
Alex Perl
December 22, 2014

I found a lawyer that was true to his word, and more. When the only company I ever worked for recently let me go, I consulted with Daniel Lublin at Whitten & Lublin to review my severance. Daniel quickly concluded that my offer was inadequate and we sued after my ex-employer refused to make any real improvement up front.

Many lawyers claim they “go to court” but that really only means that, if they can’t settle quickly, they will sue and later when pressed, they will also settle. Daniel Lublin is different. In my case, Daniel actually went to a hearing at court – and he won! A judge of the Superior Court of Justice awarded me almost double my employer’s initial offer of severance and a good portion of my legal costs. Daniel’s advice along the way was bang on, especially when he counselled me to reject a settlement offer made mid-way through the case because he was confident we would beat it at trial, and we did.

If you need a winner, call Daniel Lublin and his team at Whitten & Lublin.

Alex Perl

Default Avatar75
Rae Chandler
December 11, 2014

Daniel Lublin was recommended to me by a former colleague who had used him following termination from the same firm. I found Daniel Lublin to be an intelligent, well-spoken gentleman, very knowledgeable about the state of current employment law, what my options were. His experience with the former employer and how they operate was a definite plus in obtaining the outcome that I was looking for, without having to go to court. Thanks Daniel - I'd recommend you in future to any of my colleagues in need of your counsel.

Charlene Reekie
November 26, 2014

I was recently let go from my job after 15 years, I was upset and not sure what to do...then I contacted Ellen Low and she took it from there. She was very sympathetic but professional at the same time. She put me at ease and I left my worries in her hand. She was always there to answer questions and make sure I understood my rights. I would recommend her to anyone that asks.

Thank you Ellen!!

Charlene

Tina Hurst
November 23, 2014

Although my screen name and company name are anonymized, this review is based on true experience.

I highly recommend Daniel Chodos at Whitten & Lublin LLP to anyone seeking an employment lawyer. Daniel Chodos assisted me greatly with respect to employment termination to achieve an improved settlement with my former employer in the GTA; extended benefits coverage, a helpful letter of employment and good monetary compensation over and above his legal fees. Moreover, Daniel constantly demonstrated excellent knowledge and a high degree of professionalism allowing me to have full confidence in his handling of my situation. He provided me fantastic, timely support throughout the process and put me at ease about my situation, plus he was a pleasure to deal with. I was referred to Whitten & Lublin by a friend (Tina was her lawyer) and I would recommend them to a friend.

Default Avatar75
E Jacobson
October 30, 2014

As the owner of a small corporation, I have worked with various legal advisors for different needs, Daniel Lublin of Whitten & Lublin being one of them. Daniel is a trusted legal representative for our company and has provided timely representation on various legal matters related to our workforce. When our company launched, Daniel provided us with the right legal documents and as we grew Daniel’s continued advice and expertise was necessary to avoid several potential setbacks, including one particular instance where we needed a real “bulldog”. Daniel was definitely there to protect our interests when we needed him. We value Daniel’s willingness to go to the distance for his clients, even for small businesses, which was a personal touch that was not apparent with other law firms I have worked with. I would recommend Daniel Lublin and his team to any organization looking for a fresh legal perspective.

Bev Craig
October 29, 2014

David Whitten is amazing!
He is intelligent, patient, inspiring and was successful in managing my case. I always felt supported, comfortable asking questions and clear on my options in order to make decisions effectively.
I would highly recommend David to anyone in need of an awesome employment lawyer.

Richard Partridge
October 25, 2014

I am very grateful for having met David Whitten and the expert staff at Whitten & Lublin. I was previously exposed to a highly toxic work environment. It was an experience like no other I had ever been through in my life. After speaking with family, I decided the best thing for me and my family was to speak with a Lawyer. After reading several reviews on line about David, I called his office and booked an appointment to meet with him. My first meeting with David, he came prepared. He took time to review the information I sent him and to familiarize himself with my situation. He spoke to me in a language that I could understand and implemented a plan to help me navigate very stormy waters with my then employer. I am taking the time to write this message in hopes that you too will allow David to assist you with your matter. I highly recommend David Whitten and the services provided by his firm.

Julie G
October 24, 2014

After being laid off under somewhat suspect circumstances, I wanted to seek legal counsel to find out if any recourse was available to me.

Ellen Low was recommended to me by a colleague and friend -- and thank goodness for that referral, since it saved me from having to scour the city for right lawyer. Even before our consultation ended, I knew Ellen would achieve the results I wanted. Her knowledge is solid -- she was incredibly comprehensive in her explanation of the issues she identified in the circumstances of my layoff, and she provided me with a detailed delineation of what options were available to me and her opinion on which route would be best to take.

Once I officially retained her services, it was full steam ahead; Ellen drafted a very persuasive letter to my former employer in just a couple of days. She kept me in the loop throughout the entire negotiation process and answered all of my questions at lightning speed. Ultimately, my re-negotiated severance package was almost double the amount I initially thought I could receive. Such an exceptional outcome wouldn't have been possible without Ellen. To top it all off, she is so personable and accommodating. I would recommend her to anyone in an employment-related predicament not only for her proven results and expertise, but also because in the midst of the stress and confusion that such issues create, you want someone truly supportive like Ellen in your corner.

Thanks for everything, Ellen!

Carmine R
October 22, 2014

It's not often that one loses their job of employment, but if and when it does happen, I strongly suggest seeking legal counsel before signing anything. Daniel Chodos of Whitten & Lublin Employment Lawyers was recommended for my case.
To the untrained eye the offer looked okay, maybe even suffice, but Daniel took me through each part and explained what I was offered and what I should be entitled to.
He asks questions and listens well making you feel involved at every step. Daniel handled the case with great knowledge and professionalism. At the end I received a settlement more then I anticipated with most legal fees payed for. I would strongly recommend Daniel, he did a great job and was a pleasure to work with.

Carmine