Reviews

Reviews - Whitten & Lublin Employment Law


 

Reviews

 

GET ADVICE

Angie Eichel
September 19, 2014

I had the pleasure of working with Daniel Chodos and would highly recommend him and his firm to anyone having legal employment questions or issues. Daniel kept things simple and didn't push against my personal values or comfort zone. He provided very satisfactory results and kept the experience pragmatic, professional and educational. Everything I learned can be taken away for future situations.

Sean Robichaud
September 13, 2014

I have sent Daniel Lublin many cases over the years and they all return with the greatest of results. He is one of Toronto's top labour lawyers.

Default Avatar75
Friendly TImes Child Care Centre
September 9, 2014

I am an Executive Director of a Non Profit Corporation and I have had the privilege of working with Mr Daniel Lublin for the past 3 years as our employment lawyer. With the many changes to our organization recently, Mr Daniel Lublin has helped us resolve all legal matters during this transition including a successful defence of a human rights matter and a civil lawsuit brought against us in bad faith. Mr Daniel Lublin is humble, honest and kind. I also found that he was truly dedicated and passionate about his work

Default Avatar75
Greg Brown
September 7, 2014

I was let go from a large American company and unhappy with the package I received. I met with two lawyers at different employment law firms in Toronto. One was Daniel Lublin a partner at Whitten & Lublin. Daniel identified an opportunity that the first lawyer did not. Something about my employment contract and a recent change in the law meant that my ex-employer was required to pay me much more than they offered, regardless if I found other work. This argument proved successful. Daniel was able to negotiate for a tangible improvement above what I expected to received. His fees were defined by a percentage of that improvement, which was something we agreed to at the outset – so there were no surprises. Daniel was even able to recover some of the legal costs from my ex-employer. If you need a workplace lawyer that gets it, call Whitten & Lublin.

Allan Morris
September 1, 2014

Following a recent lay off from an executive role with one of Canada’s largest corporations, I was in a bind. I needed an employment lawyer with credibility who could “go the distance” with my former employer and not be afraid of the various litigation walls they would inevitably throw up. I was referred to Daniel Lublin by two acquaintances that had successfully engaged him in the recent past and looked at his work in the media and as the workplace legal columnist for the Globe and Mail. Based on this I decided to retain him to pursue the dismissal matter. Throughout the process, Daniel exercised skill at dealing with the complexities of my case and a reassurance that if we stayed the course, we would prevail. Daniel’s strong points included: availability to speak with me (and my wife) without delay or excuses; attention to details, a collaborative approach to making decisions with me (instead of just dictating what he felt was best), a deftness at handling the matter with the other side and in court appearances; and his legal fees were reasonable and not inconsistent with my expectations. Daniel’s biography says he has consistently been named one of Canada’s Top Employment Lawyers. In handling my case, he demonstrated this is a title well-deserved. I would recommend Daniel Lublin to other executives and in situations where an employer needs a credible courtroom presence in order to be taken seriously.

Default Avatar75
Anonymous
August 10, 2014

David Whitten is a highly skilled lawyer and I highly recommend him as an employment lawyer. His strong technical legal knowledge and expertise coupled with his cultural sensitivity, high emotional IQ and efficient service created a very positive experience for me at a very difficult time in my life. You will never regret getting at least an initial consult with David Whitten.

Chas B
August 10, 2014

I was referred to Daniel Lublin for assistance resolving a management issue. During the three years he was retained I found Daniel to be professional, supportive and instrumental in reaching a settlement with a less than engaged employer.

For many individuals employment disputes are new and difficult situations. Daniel is able to explain the options and legal remedies in a straightforward manner so the client can make informed decisions This is invaluable and necessary as every employment dispute takes unexpected twists and turns.

I would certainly recommend contacting Whitten and Lublin for assistance with an work related issue.

Kevin Hickey
July 28, 2014

I was fortunate to be referred to Daniel Lublin from a colleague after a dispute arose with a former employer. From the initial consultation with Mr. Lublin, I knew that I would be represented by a professional and competent lawyer. Daniel clearly explained all the options I had, and what the steps would be in the process. I expressed what I wanted out of the process and he gave me his recommendations. Within 2 weeks, Daniel managed to conclude a settlement that was far above the employer's initial position. I can say I was truly satisfied with the service provided by Daniel and his legal team. I would highly recommend them to any friend or colleague who requires legal assistance to deal with an employment issue.

Default Avatar75
Ingrid Fazio
July 19, 2014

I was terminated from my job and not happy with the offer of severance I received. A friend who used Daniel Lublin for her case recommended him. I had a previous experience with another employment lawyer and Daniel was much different. Instead of going for “garden variety” severance damages, Daniel initiated a claim for invasion of privacy and general damages. This brought my former employer to the negotiating table and fast. They must have feared dealing with Daniel since they accepted our offer in order to settle the case! Daniel achieved 100% of what I hoped to obtain and relatively fast. Not least, his legal fees were also consistent with my expectations and what we had agreed to. In the end, I made the right decision to challenge my inadequate offer of severance and to retain Daniel Lublin. If you need a lawyer to fight Goliath, call Daniel.

Amie Rankin
July 17, 2014

I was referred , by another lawyer!
Every resource that is available to hourly employee's, quite frankly does not apply to salary managers. I had gone through, the Labour Board, my company's HR department, my department heads, Head Office.
To be honest, this was my last hope, Whitten and Lublin - Employment Lawyers. On my first visit, I had met with one of the partner's Mr. David Whitten. You must understand before I continue, I was fighting a huge corporation by myself. Know one believed me or in me! Witness wouldn't help, in fear of losing there jobs. And I was an emotional wreck! But after my meeting with David, he recommended one of his associates Mr. Daniel Chodos to handle my case.
Both David and Daniel, believed me and in doing so, not only took on the fight for me but gave me back a sense of self worth and made people involved know that they would fight for me and they would not go away!!
Daniel, was amazing! Guess what...every person has rights and Daniel never let me forget it! Even his assistant, Jessica was invaluable. I haven't needed a lawyer of any kind in the past. And of course people say "Lawyers really don't care, they just want money! etc"
Well then this gives me the pleasure of telling you," You went to the wrong lawyers!!" This team/family, are the most qualified, compassionate law firm, that treats each person (women) with dignity and old fashions values! Doesn't matter how much you pay any lawyer you may get. But at Whitten and Lublin ( Daniel Chodos ) you get a class act of ladies and gentlemen with all the above qualities. No amount of money could by that!
By the way, Daniel Chodos he is still in the background! Just because a case a/or problem is resolved this law firm doesn't say " Well it's been nice, see ya!" They stay with you. Concerns, questions, things that might come up, you can email, call them...Daniel Chodos at ( Whitten and Lublin ) has and still does for me! Even though, he no longer has to. This just proves, this law firm truly cares about their past and present clients.
Thank you so very much, Daniel, David and the rest of the family! What you did for me was priceless!

Thank you

Alex Perl
June 14, 2014

I found a lawyer that was true to his word, and more. When the only company I ever worked for recently let me go, I consulted with Daniel Lublin at Whitten & Lublin to review my severance. Daniel quickly concluded that my offer was inadequate and we sued after my ex-employer refused to make any real improvement up front.

Many lawyers claim they “go to court” but that really only means that, if they can’t settle quickly, they will sue and later when pressed, they will also settle. Daniel Lublin is different. In my case, Daniel actually went to a hearing at court – and he won! A judge of the Superior Court of Justice awarded me almost double my employer’s initial offer of severance and a good portion of my legal costs. Daniel’s advice along the way was bang on, especially when he counselled me to reject a settlement offer made mid-way through the case because he was confident we would beat it at trial, and we did.

If you need a winner, call Daniel Lublin and his team at Whitten & Lublin.

Alex Perl

Ryan Hildebrandt
May 16, 2014

I was initially pretty worried about this call, having never talked to a lawyer before for employment reasons. The team at Whitten & Lublin were very prompt in getting an appointment scheduled, following up, managing expectations about what the call would be about, and ensuring I knew what to send over to them to make sure the call with Ellen Low was as productive as possible.

Ellen did a great job in explaining the legal principles involved for my case, in language that I could understand. She didn't talk down to me, nor did she launch into really technical jargon either. Ellen was highly recommended by a friend of mine, and I'd happily pass on the same recommendation to others.

Christine Chudyk
May 15, 2014

I highly recommend Ellen Low. She is professional, intelligent and personable to work with. I had recently Ellen's services to assist me in negotiating a better severance package with my former employer. From the moment I met her, I knew that I was in good hands. She explained the entire process and kept me informed the entire time. Ellen is definitely someone you want in your corner.

Thank you Ellen!

Default Avatar75
Peter Jensen
November 20, 2013

I was introduced to Ellen Low by a mutual associate and am very grateful for the connection.

I met with Ellen shortly after our initial correspondence and found her to be knowledgeable, forthright, sympathetic and personable. She provided me with a number of options with concise thoughts on each and made decision-making regarding next steps and a plan of action clear and straightforward.

The entire process took some time but at no fault of Ellen’s. She follows through quickly and she’s tough. In the end, I reached a settlement that I know I could not have achieved without her.

In looking for a lawyer, obviously, you want a killer on your side. Professionally, Ellen’s exceptional at her job, without doubt. But I’m not sure if that’s at the heart of why I would recommend her.

There’s a certain amount of emotional wear and tear you go through. Looking back, I think it’s important to feel like you’ve got somebody on your side, a real partner.

Ellen’s got your back - and you know it at every step. That’s why I’m writing this recommendation. Retain her services and you’ll see firsthand.

Katherine Ristimaki
November 15, 2013

Daniel Lublin is a delight!

When I received my severance package, the only question I had was "is it fair?"

My first conversation with Daniel was very thorough. Before our conversation even ended, I knew instinctively that he would do everything he could for me. He answered all of my questions before I even had the chance to ask them!

Daniel is extremely knowledgeable and efficient, but most of all for me, had a tremendous amount of patience and kindness during a difficult and emotional time.

The result was very successful and exceeded my expectations.

I was extremely satisfied and I would highly recommend Daniel Lublin to anyone in need of employment law advice.

Daniel, I can't thank you enough!

Default Avatar75
Guy Parent
October 28, 2013

What you see in your first meeting... is what you get.
I retained Dan but have witnessed both David Whitten and Daniel Lublin in action on separate actions. Both are best described as "legal land sharks" and are more than capable of holding their own against their opponents regardless of their status or however many they bring to the table.
They come prepared and don't waste time getting to the nuts and bolts of where they need to be. They're both equipped with rapier whits, a sense of humour and easy to work with.
Having witnessed my fair share of Counsellors in the past, these guys are right up there with the best of them.

David Irvine
October 20, 2013

Daniel Lublin was recommended to me through an Executive Search firm that I had dealt with in the past. We had a full case together regarding a settlement for my severance. Daniel was thorough, expedient and in complete control of the process required to solve the case. He knew the exact steps necessary to reach our goal and completed the process almost exactly as he had predicted.

I would hire Daniel again if I was ever in this position going forward. I would also highly recommend him to anyone looking to obtain a fair settlement for employment severance.

Regards,

Dave Irvine

Default Avatar75
Happy Customer
October 15, 2013

I was put into contact with Daniel Lublin by an associate who described Daniel as one of the top employment lawyers in Canada and invited me to read some of Daniel's articles from the Globe and Mail to give me an idea of who Daniel was.

I met with Daniel for an initial consultation the very next day (he was extremely flexible in hours and I spoke with him for the first time @ 7:30pm the evening before)
Daniel asked me to describe my situation, listened intently and when he verified that I was finished began to replay my situation back through the notes he kept while I was talking. This was his way of back checking my points to ensure we did not miss anything. Once that was complete he walked me through each point to articulate my options, listened and responded when I asked follow ups and coached me to what I could expect in the near term and long term as a result of the circumstances I was under.
He did not push me one way or the other just matter of fact gave me the options and told me to think it through before deciding what to do.
It was that approach and the very informative way Daniel advised me that gave me the confidence to go through with a lengthy and very nerve racking period over 3 months.
In the end we had a successful conclusion that I can say with 100% confidence would not have happened if not for Daniel and his team. I can think of at least twice over those very stressful months that Daniel had to "talk me off the roof" and reassure me that it would all be ok if I would just stay the course.

The initial comments by my associate that he was one of the best in Canada was certainly well founded. In my case I would not hesitate to say "Best in Canada".

Daniel I cannot express my thanks deep enough, Thank You!

A very Happy Customer

Default Avatar75
Iulian Razvan
October 1, 2013

Having had to deal with an employment situation and needing legal counsel, I started doing my research looking for the best employment attorney in Toronto. After doing my research and reading some of Daniel Lublin's articles, I came to the conclusion he was the best person for the job.
Daniel is very knowledgeable and his experience allowed him to immediately grasp the complexity of my case and to lay out a plan of action. I was most impressed with Daniel's letter to my employer as it was very well written, without overusing any of the usual legal jargon yet delivering the powerful impact it needed to convey the message.

Daniel Lublin did a great job in helping me reach a settlement with my company in a fairly quick time-frame. I would recommend Daniel and his firm and would use them again for legal counseling. Thank you Daniel.

Default Avatar75
Freedomiz Tospeak
September 16, 2013

As an executive and having familiarity with a variety of lawyers and firms in the non-employment law spaces, I definitely knew what I did not want.

After a bit of shopping, I met with Daniel Lublin from Whitten & Lublin and choose him. I am glad I did.

My former employer started me off with a low ball offer for a very senior position.

Daniel caught this issue right away, and It was this issue that immediately brought our range up 6x over where they started and allowed us to negotiate on our terms, not theirs. Then Daniel developed a strategy to threaten a novel claim for extra damages that enabled us to get the “last 20%” of what we wanted.

Most lawyers, in my experience, would apply the 80 / 20 rule and stopped at achieving 80% of the result, because most of the work left is in pushing for that last 20%.

Daniel took it the extra mile. His innovative approach applied recent legal precedent on an non-employment law related issue to get us over the goal line. My former employment caved.

I would HIGHLY recommend.